

ICAS Secretariat, c/o DGLR, D-53175 Bonn, Germany Phone: +49.228.3080519, Fax: +49.228.3080524 E-mail: <u>icas@icas.org</u>, Web: <u>www.icas.org</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bonn, Germany – Monday, 17 September 2018

Prestigious Awards to be presented at ICAS Congress in Belo Horzonte, Brazil

ICAS – the International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences, is proud to announce the latest recipients of its prestigious awards, which will be presented at the 31st ICAS Congress (ICAS 2018) to be held in Belo Horizonte, 09-14 September 2018.

The process of nominating, reviewing and finalizing the recipients is the responsibility of the ICAS Past President Dr Christian Mari and his Honours and Awards Committee.

Following intensive review, the ICAS Executive Committee accepted all of the recommendations put forward and ICAS is delighted to announce the following 2018 awards:

ICAS Daniel & Florence Guggenheim Memorial Lecture Award *Humberto Pereira, Brazil*

ICAS von Kármán Award for International Cooperation in Aeronautics *ICAF - International Committee on Aeronautical Fatigue and Structural Integrity*

ICAS "Casimiro Montenegro Filho" Award for Innovation in Aeronautics *AGILE - Project Consortium*

ICAS Maurice Roy Award *Charles Champion, France*

ICAS John J. Green Award Erwin Gowree, United Kingdom

ICAS - IFAR Award *Rei Yamashita, Japan*

For more information contact the ICAS Secretariat: *icas@icas.org*



ICAS - Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Award

The Distinguished Lectureship Award is intended to recognise and honour a scientist or engineer of eminence who in a long and productive career has made a significant contribution to progress in aeronautics.



31st Congress of the

International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences Belo Horizonte - Brazil

Recipient: Humberto Pereira, Brazil

Citation: In recognition of a lifetime career with outstanding contributions to safe and lean processes in aircraft development.

ICAS – von Karman Award for International Cooperation in Aeronautics

Its purpose is to acknowledge exceptional achievement in international cooperation in the field of aeronautics, being awarded to a project or programme in which two or more countries are major participants and which is characterised by substantial technical achievement, scientific or technological advance or benefit to society.









Dr. Carlos Chaves



9^{SUN} - 14^{FRI} September

2018

Marcel Bos

Recipients: ICAF – International Committee on Aeronautical Fatigue and Structural Integrity

Dr. Anders Blom, Sweden, David Simpson, Canada, Dr. Carlos Chaves, Brazil, Marcel Bos, The Netherlands

Citation: In recognition of the multi-national world-wide work over almost seven decades to ensure safe flights of both civil and military aircraft.



ICAS - Award for Innovation in Aeronautics

Its purpose is to recognize contributions of an individual or a team in effectively integrating a suite of advanced technologies, combined with new design and/or manufacturing processes, to create a new aeronautical system with significant worldwide impact.





Dr. Björn Nagel Germany, Dr. Pier Davide Ciampa, Italy

Recipient: AGiLE Project Consortium Dr. Björn Nagel Germany, Dr. Pier Davide Ciampa, Italy

Citation: In recognition of aeronautic innovations and accomplishments in advancing the next generation of collaborative Multidisciplinary Design and Optimization processes in international collaborations.

ICAS – Maurice Roy Medal

Its purpose is to honour persons of distinction who have an exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.



Recipient: Dr. Charles Champion, France

Citation: For almost four decades of sponsorship and leadership in international cooperation to ensure Airbus remained a deep well of research and technological expertise, and one of the world's foremost engineering companies.



ICAS - John J. Green Award

Its purpose is to honour young persons of distinction who are demonstrating an exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.



Recipient: Dr. Erwin Gowree, United Kingdom *Citation: In recognition of outstanding support to the ICAS Congress, for encouraging interaction between member societies and for promoting international student activities.*

ICAS – IFAR Award

The purpose of the ICAS-IFAR Award is to honour an individual who has made a significant contribution to Aeronautical Science within his/her doctoral thesis (PhD or equivalent).



Recipient: Dr. Rei Yamashita, Japan

Citation: In recognition of his exceptional research and significant contribution to aeronautical sciences through the PhD Thesis "Full field simulation for sonic boom propagation through real atmosphere".

ICAS - John McCarthy Student Awards

1st Fernando Miro Miro, Belgium

2nd Aline Dahleni Kraemer, Brazil



ICAS HONORARY FELLOWS

9^{SUN} - 14^{FRI} September

2018

The ICAS Honorary Fellowship is the highest Service Award that the International Council of the Aeronautical Science has to offer. The full list of the awardees who have been elected as Honorary Fellows is included in the ICAS website. Honorary Fellows are members of the Honorary Fellows Advisory Group whose chair is a voting member of the ICAS Executive Committee.

For the period 2017/2018 the members of the Honorary Fellows Advisory Group were:

Chair of the Honorary Fellows Advisory Group:

Detlef Müller-Wiesner, Germany

Members of the Honorary Fellows Advisory Group:

Fred Abbink, The Netherlands Ron Bengelink, USA Giovanni Carlomagno, Italy Billy Fredriksson, Sweden John Green, United Kingdom Anders Gustafsson, Sweden Roy Harris, U.S.A. Jerry Hefner, U.S.A. Shinya Kobayakawa, Japan Boris Laschka, Germany Jean-Pierre Marec, France Camille McCarthy, U.S.A. Pete Petersen, U.S.A. Ian Poll, United Kingdom Murray Scott, Australia Fred Sterk, The Netherlands