

ICAS AWARDEES 2022

Please find the ICAS Awardees 2022 below. These Awardees have been carefully selected by the ICAS Honors and Awards Sub-Committee, decided by the ICAS Executive Committee and endorsed by the ICAS Council.

ICAS - Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Award

The Distinguished Lectureship Award is intended to recognise and honour a scientist or engineer of eminence who in a long and productive career has made a significant contribution to progress in aeronautics.



Recipient: Anders Blom, Sweden

Citation: In recognition for a lifetime of outstanding contributions in the field of aircraft structural integrity and to national and international collaboration in aeronautical research.

ICAS - von Karman Award for International Cooperation in Aeronautics

Its purpose is to acknowledge exceptional achievement in international cooperation in the field of aeronautics, being awarded to a project or programme in which two or more countries are major participants and which is characterised by substantial technical achievement, scientific or technological advance or benefit to society.

Recipients: Clean Sky 2 Joint undertaking



Citation: CleanSky(2) is a unique global Program which has created a high-performing international cooperation eco-system for aeronautics technologies for some 5,000 scientists and engineers from 30 countries, extending far beyond the EU member states. Bringing together many of the best minds, Clean Sky (2) drastically accelerated

evolution towards sustainable aviation and prepared successfully the follow up program 'Clean Aviation'. The Clean Sky JU has proved to be a unique cooperative frame combining flexibility and steadiness to deliver tangible outputs.



ICAS - Award for Innovation in Aeronautics

Its purpose is to recognize contributions of an individual or a team in effectively integrating a suite of advanced technologies, combined with new design and/or manufacturing processes, to create a new aeronautical system with significant worldwide impact.



Recipient: Eli Livne, U.S.A.

Citation: For seminal contributions to the theory and practice of Aeroservoelasticity in the context of aircraft Multidisciplinary Design Optimization, and pioneering work towards the maturation of aircraft active flutter suppression technology.

ICAS - Maurice Roy Medal

Its purpose is to honour persons of distinction who have an exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.



Recipient: Dr. John C. Vassberg, U.S.A.

Citation: For contributions to the development and testing of the NASA/Boeing Common Research Model (CRM), and the AIAA International Drag Prediction Workshops for sharing and calibration of aerodynamic prediction methods.



ICAS - John J. Green Award

Its purpose is to honour young persons of distinction who are demonstrating an exceptional record in fostering international cooperation between scientists by their personal participation and involvement in aeronautics.





Recipients: Marcus Johnson and Adriana Andreeva-Mori

Citation: Dr. Adriana Andreeva-Mori and Dr Marcus Johnson jointly carried out a programme of world-leading research to support safe and efficient disaster response. This research included flight tests and succeeded in integrating disaster relief technologies, developed by JAXA, and UAS traffic management technologies, developed by NASA, and is in the best traditions of international co-operation in aeronautics.

ICAS – IFAR Award

The purpose of the ICAS-IFAR Award is to honour an individual who has made a significant contribution to Aeronautical Science within his/her doctoral thesis (PhD or equivalent).



Recipient: Dr M. Nagarai, India



ICAS - John McCarthy Student Awards

The Award or Awards, consisting of a certificate and a stipend, will be given to the author (or authors, should there be more than one who satisfies the qualifying criteria) of the paper the quality of content and presentation of which is judged to be the best or second best of those presented at the Congress.

Recipients: to be announced in the evening at the Congress Banquet (September 2022)

The first place goes to:

Rebecca Zahn, Germany

And the second place to

Vitor Kleine. Sweden

IC∆52022 SWEDEN:

ICAS Award for Distinguished Service to ICAS

To honour an individual who has made a significant contribution or provided an exceptional service that helped to advance the vision and goals of ICAS. This contribution or service should be provided as a member of the ICAS organisation including committees or subcommittees, the Council, and the local Congress organising committee. The recipient of this Award could receive this award more than one time.



Recipient: Karl Rein-Weston, U.S.A.

Citation: Mr. Karl Rein-Weston has shown fantastic commitment to organise the ICAS Student Award competition over many Congresses with the support of his sub-committee. This competition is an essential part of the ICAS mission: it has inspired students all around the world who have now become members of our ICAS family.

Ce Yu (all China)

Recipients:

Dr. Junchen Yao



Xue Zhang

Citation: Dr. Junchen Yao, Mr. Ce Yu and Ms. Xue Zhang did a fantastic job in leading the 2021 Congress during unprecedented circumstances. In spite of the severe impact of COVID-19, ICAS 2021 was a complete success in terms of implementation, number of delegates and financial performance. Shanghai 2021 will be remembered for making a lasting impact on how the ICAS Congress operates.



ICAS Honorary Fellows

The ICAS Council may grant the status of "Honorary Fellow" to individuals who in the opinion of the Council have distinguished themselves by virtue of their exceptional personal contributions, or through exceptional service to the objectives of ICAS.



Recipient: Dr. Shinji Suzuki, Japan